+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Xibit and Kalenyo's Theories on Tanking, Agro and Threat generation.

Xibit and Kalenyo's Theories on Tanking, Agro and Threat generation.

Hi everyone,

If anyone decides to use this information in a video, please pass along some credit to Xibit and Kalenyo. Thanks

I'm Xibit and I guess I've been playing for about 6 months now. My brother and his kids got me and my wife into the game. My first game addiction was Everquest. The game mechanics specifically. Here's an observation that my wife and I recently made. It helps to have someone to bounce ideas around with. I searched around and haven't seen anyone else publish these ideas as I'm about to.

Lets start with a couple terms that some are not familiar with...

Agro - The amount of threat a character has built up with a particular mob. Player with the most agro will effectively be tanking, whether they want to or not.

Taunt - Ability that is used to create agro and get a mobs attention.

Proc - When an ability activates automatically.

DoT - Damage over time abilities.

Like most ideas, this all started with a problem. The problem was that my wifes Draco wasn't obtaining or holding agro like it used to when she was tanking in dungeons. My candy barbarian was now able to pull the mobs away with little effort. We assumed it was a hidden change in the recent patch and she shifted her main from the Draco to another class. I felt bad for her, because she really likes playing the Draco. A couple weeks later, mid week so no patch, my candy barbarian suddenly wasn't holding agro as it was before and I no longer could tank in ST as I had before without using his swirly ability nearly all the time. It was annoying.