+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: A lesson in the negative binomial probability distribution

A lesson in the negative binomial probability distribution

One of the biggest complaints I see all the time on the trove forums is about the random number generator (RNG).

I have a doctorate degree in statistics (emphasis in data mining + machine learning) and have been a teaching assistant and instructor for statistics classes and have learned that almost everyone doesn't know anything about statistics. The people who have taken introduction to statistics may memorize formulas, but most of their intuition is still not developed to properly use the information. This post is meant to educate players, developers, and anyone else who is interested about statistics and how it applies to RNG.

With the recent patch regarding dragon fragments and the many dragons, RNG is once again a hot topic. But this topic has always been hot because of primordial dragon eggs, decent gem drop rates, etc...

There are two main complaints about RNG,

1) Length it takes to complete a task (E.G. collect a primordial dragon egg)
    2) The instability of RNG (how some players may have 6 primordial dragon eggs and how some players have none even though they opened the same amount of empowered gem boxes).

Both of these concepts relate to a probability distribution: negative binomial distribution.

To understand the negative binomial distribution, a quick summary of the binomial distribution is needed.